Wine, including sparkling varieties and cider, is gluten free. Liqueurs, spirits, champagne, sherry, port and brandy are traditionally made from gluten free ingredients, or are distilled, and are suitable for a gluten free diet.
Distilled spirits are acceptable for people following a gluten free diet. Although some spirits may be produced from wheat, rye or barley, they undergo a distillation process that ensure protein (gluten) is not carried over to the final product.
Beer, ale, lager, stout and Guinness are produced by the alcoholic fermentation of germinated cereals, usually barley, and may contain varying amounts of gluten. These are not suitable for a gluten free diet.
There are beers made specifically for the gluten free market (your state organisation can give you information on these).
The colour of apple cider, fortified wines and spirits may be enhanced by the addition of caramel colour. Although caramel colour can sometimes, but not always, be derived from wheat starch, it always tests as gluten free.