The Gluten Free Diet
A gluten-free diet is the only treatment for coeliac disease. Taking gluten out of the diet allows your gut to heal and your symptoms to improve.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in:
- Wheat (including spelt)
- Oats (read our position statement on oats)
Where is gluten found?
The most obvious sources of Gluten include normal bread, biscuits, cakes, pastry, pizza, pasta, batter and breadcrumbs. Beer also contains gluten (although gluten free beers are now available). Ingredients within packaged foods can also come from a gluten source. To become ingredient aware is essential.
What can I eat?
There are 4 groups of food that are suitable for those on a gluten free diet:
- Naturally gluten free foods
For example: Fresh fruit and vegetables, fresh meats, eggs, nuts and legumes, milk, fats and oils and gluten free grains e.g. rice and corn.
- Products labelled ‘gluten free’
You can be confident that products displaying the ‘gluten free’ label are safe.
- Products that use the ‘Crossed grain logo’
Products displaying the crossed grain logo are endorsed by Coeliac Australia and are safe.
- Products that are gluten free by ingredient
If any ingredient in a product is derived from wheat, rye, barley or oats, then this must be declared.
Choosing safe foods
The guidance of an Accredited Practicing Dietitian who can give assistance with advice to suit individual needs is recommended.
Coeliac Australia provides support and information for those diagnosed with coeliac disease. Coeliac Australia’s Ingredient List Booklet (available with membership) will teach you how to read food labels and identify gluten containing ingredients. Specific resources for children requiring a gluten free diet are also available. Membership is available through your state Coeliac office.